The Scholarship‎ > ‎

2017 Scholars

2017 Lee Schipper Memorial Scholarship for Sustainable Transport and Energy Efficiency awarded to Joanna Moody and Rafael Pereira

Formed in memory of Dr. Lee Schipper, Founder of EMBARQ, the scholarship has helped advance the field of sustainable mobility for five years

The Lee Schipper family and WRI Ross Center for Sustainable Cities are pleased to announce that Joanna Moody and Rafael Pereira have been selected to receive the 2017 Lee Schipper Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship supports the recipients’ research, which focuses on advancing sustainable urban mobility.

The Lee Schipper Memorial Scholarship was established in 2012 to celebrate EMBARQ founder and recognized researcher Dr. Lee Schipper’s vision and contributions to the fields of sustainable transport and energy efficiency. EMBARQ is a signature initiative of the WRI Ross Center.

Mr. Pereira’s research will investigate the impact of transport investments on existing inequalities in public access to economic opportunities. Mr. Pereira will focus his research on Rio de Janeiro, with the intent to develop a model to evaluate access to educational, health and employment opportunities that can be applied to other cities in developing countries.

“The award will greatly contribute to my research by allowing me to harness the capabilities of GPS big data to evaluate how transport investments related to recent sports mega-events in Rio de Janeiro have reshaped inequalities in people’s access to opportunity,” said Mr. Pereira.

Ms. Moody will explore ‘car pride’ and attitudes toward sustainable transportation to gather empirical evidence regarding personal choice of transport modes. She aims to measure how people attribute their social status and personal image to car ownership, and other transportation choices, to inform future sustainable transportation planning and policy making.  “This support will allow me to expand data collection on ‘car pride,’ ‘bus shame,’ and other modal biases in two cities in Latin America, for greater regional breadth in comparing strength, direction, and distribution of modal biases in global metropolitan areas. By sharing my results, I hope to help policy makers and academics shape sustainable transportation initiatives and campaigns to encourage users to adopt active, multi-modal travel lifestyles,” said Ms. Moody.

“We are extraordinarily excited to award scholarships to two such outstanding researchers,” said Holger Dalkmann, on behalf of the Scholarship Board. “Both Ms. Moody's and Mr. Pereira’s research have the potential to adjust how we think about developing sustainable transit systems, and how we can effectively encourage shifts in public behavior to take full advantage of such systems.” 

In addition to this year’s two awardees, Ms. Kelly Blynn, Ms. Diana Ramirez-Rios, Mr. Prateek Bansal, Ms. Rumana Islam Sarker, Mr. Jamey Volker, and Ms. Lindsay Blair Howe have been designated as Honorable Mentions, in recognition of their proposals having been counted amount the top tier in this year’s applicant pool.

A total of 61 applications were received, representing 19 different countries. After careful evaluation by the Review Committee, 9 finalists were selected to submit full research proposals. From this group of 9, 2 finalists, Ms. Moody and Mr. Pereira, were selected to be interviewed by the Review Committee. Following these interviews, the Scholarship Board, comprised of Nancy Kete, Mr. S. Sundar, Måns Lönnroth, Judith Pollock, Holger Dalkmann, and Ramon Munoz-Raskin, provided their support for both finalists.

Ms. Moody and Mr. Pereira will present the findings of their research in January 2018, at the annual Transforming Transportation conference in Washington, D.C. Their final research reports will also be made available on this website in the Spring of 2018.

Ms. Joanna MoodyMs. Joanna Moody

Mr. Rafael Pereira
Mr. Rafael Pereira

The scholarship was created by the Schipper Family and EMBARQ, with cooperation from leading scholars and policy makers, and is made possible by donations from individual donors as well as an instrumental grant from the Shell Foundation.